Zu den Inhalten springen

Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie

Research group Biber

Molecular Psychiatry
Research group leader:   Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Knut Biber
Phone: +49 (0)761 270-66580
Postal address: Hauptstr. 5, 79104 Freiburg
Group members: Phone [+49 (0)761 270] E-Mail
Dr. Annette Heinrich -66690 annette.heinrich@uniklinik-freiburg.de
Dr. Tsvetan Serchov -66690 tsvetan.serchov@uniklinik-freiburg.de 
Dr. Sabine Hellwig -66690 sabine.hellwig@uniklinik-freiburg.de
Chu-Hsin Shieh -66690 chu-hsin.shieh@uniklinik-freiburg.de
Ulrike Goetzinger-Berger -66680 ulrike.goetzinger-berger@uniklinik-freiburg.de
Brigitte Guenter    brigitte.guenter@uniklinik-freiburg.de
Lisa Füner -66680 lisa.fuener@uniklinik-freiburg.de

Research focus

The research focus of the section molecular pharmacology concerns the role of glia cells (astrocytes and microglia) in psychatric and neurodegenerative diseases. The human brain hosts more glia cells than neurons and the importance of glia cells in all brain functions has been recognized in the last 10 years.

Our major scientific interest relates to the protective function of glia cells that are based on the release of inflammatory mediators (cytokines and chemokines). Since these inflammatory mediators are most likely also important in psychiatric diseases like Alzheimers disease, depression or schizophrenia the role of these mediators in vitro and in vivo are investigated.

The several molecular and biochemical research projects are performed in close collaboration with the section Psychopharmakotherapy and the neurochemical lab.

Selected publications

  • Rolyan H, Scheffold A, Heinrich A, Begus-Nahrmann Y, Langkopf BH, Hölter SM, Vogt-Weisenhorn DM, Liss B, Wurst W, Lie DC, Thal DR, Biber K, Rudolph KL. (2011) Telomere shortening reduces Alzheimer's disease amyloid pathology in mice. Brain. 134:2044-56.
  • Biber K, Tsuda M, Tozaki-Saitoh H, Tsukamoto K, Toyomitsu E, Masuda T, Boddeke H, Inoue K. (2011) Neuronal CCL21 up-regulates microglia P2X4 expression and initiates neuropathic pain development. EMBO J. 2011 May 4;30(9):1864-73.
  • de Jong EK, Vinet J, Stanulovic V, Wesseling EM, Meijer M, Schollema K, Boddeke HWGM, Biber K. (2008) Expression, transport and axonal sorting of neuronal CCL21 in large dense core vesicles. FASEB Journal, Dec;22(12):4136-45.
  • De Haas AH, Boddeke HWMG, Biber K. (2008) Region-specific expression of immunregulatory proteins on microglia in the healthy CNS. Glia, 56:888-94.
  • de Jong EK, Dijkstra IM, Hensens M, Brouwer N, Amerongen M, Liem RSB, Boddeke HWMG, Biber K (2005). Vesicle-mediated transport and release of CCL21 in endangered neurons: a possible explanation for microglia activation remote from a primary lesion. J. Neurosci. 25:7548-57.
     

Funding

  • DFG FOR 1336 TP A4, BI 668/2-1 „ Microglia phenotypes in different brain regions: factors and function.”
  • DFG CA 115/5-4 „Regulation der Expression, Signaltransduktion und Funktion von Adenosinrezeptoren im Zentralnervensystem“ In collaboration with section Psychopharmakotherapy
  • BMBF Projekt: Kompetenznetz Degenerative Demenzen (KNDD)

Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie

Hauptstraße 5
79104 Freiburg

Information: 0761 270-65010


Die Klinik in Bildern

Bildergalerie