Zu den Inhalten springen

Department of Neurosurgery


Research groups (2016)


Future-oriented research provides secure and enhanced medical standards in our department. Therefore, we are working on various research projects and clinical trials.


Experimental epilepsy research group, Mrs Prof. Dr. C. Haas

Neurosurgical epilepsy research, Prof. Dr. J. Zentner

Translational Neurotechnology Lab, PD Dr. med. Tonio Ball

Translational Neuro-Oncology

  • Translational Neuro-Oncology, Head: PD Dr. Oliver Schnell
  • Tumor Metabolism Research Group, Dr. D.H. Heiland
  • LEAT (= Long-term Epilepsy-Associated Tumor) Research Group, Dr. D. Delev
  • Clinical Trials

Neuro-Oncology Lab

Research group Genetics of Brain Tumors, Mrs Dr. M.S. Carro

Research group Tumor Angiogenesis, Mrs PD Dr. M. Machein


Lab of Stereotaxy and Interventional Neuroscience,
Dr. M. Döbrössy, Prof. Dr. V.A. Coenen

Vascular Neurosurgery

Research in Vascular Neurosurgery, Prof. Dr. J. Zentner, Dr. C. Scheiwe

Neuroelectronics Systems

Research in Neuroelectronics Systems, Prof. Dr. rer.nat. Ulrich G. Hofmann,
Peter-Osypka-Professor for Neuroelectronic Systems

The Baroloop Team, Dr. M. Gierthmühlen, Dr. D. Plachta 


Section Clinical Neuropharmacology, Prof. Dr. T. J. Feuerstein (until October 2016)


Cellular neurophysiology research group (under construction)

Department of Neurosurgery

Breisacher Str. 64
D-79106 Freiburg

Phone: +49 761 270-50010/-50020
Fax: +49 761 270-50240

Medical Director

Prof. Dr. Juergen Beck